Python Standard LIbrary – Book

Working in Python, I find myself googling for solutions to programming snags all the time. More and more often, my questions turn out to be about use of the Python Standard Library, be it hashlib for file comparison purposes or shutil for standard file system operations, or whatever. So I finally took the plunge and placed the Standard Library on my desk – the Addison-Wesley Professional/Developers Library text. I’ve said before, I learn more from reading 2 pages in a book than googling 20 pages.

This is not a beginners book on how to learn Python. This is the book you need, being the bookish type, if you use Python every day and would like to learn to finer details of how to use the standard modules effectively. This is a great book to just browse and start reading anywhere. I promise you that you will learn a lot.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Python Standard LIbrary – Book

  1. DD

    Doug Hellman has been a helpful resource for me. I got turned into his website at the last ESRI Conference (http://www.doughellmann.com/PyMOTW/) and have bookmarked this because I end up coming back to it often. I have yet to see the book, but I can imagine that it is a great reference tool.

Leave a Reply

