ArcSDE Revisited

I stumbled upon my post from this spring about ArcSDE. Well, I’ve since had the opportunity to get to know SDE a little better. I installed ArcSDE 10 and created a geodatabase in SQL Server 2008. I haven’t pushed a lot of data into SDE since, mainly because I have been trying to come up with a good plan of how to structure our geospatial data, which will be accessed by both ArcGIS Server and other Non-ESRI applications, e.g. LandWorks Property Management (LPM). Once I’ve completed my analysis, it will be time to start moving data. During all my reading and googling on ArcSDE/SQL Server functionality and configuration though, I again lament ESRI’s decision not to update the PDF documents that they were still issuing for most ArcGIS 9.3 products. I find it so much easier to read a chapter in a book-like PDF file than trying to do so in the online or on-disk help file, hampered by constantly expanding and collapsing bullets and distracting links. But maybe that’s just me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

