Python Modules for GIS (on Michalis Avraam’s blog)

This post by Michalis Avraam features a neat selection of Python modules useful to the GIS practitioner. Having experimented with numpy by way of OpenEV last week, I was glad to read MA’s testimony that numpy is an essential GIS tool for rasters. As I currently have very little (nothing) to do with Networks, I will skip NetworkX. But the Excel reader/writer I should look at. I knew there was such a thing, just as there is for CSV. But for importing simple data, e.g. coordinates, I have been able to make to with TXT. Anyway, I’d highly recommend MA’s summary to anyone.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

