USGS DRG (Digitized Raster Graphic) Files

Somewhere in Dallas, Texas...
Somewhere in Dallas, Texas…

I’ve written on this blog before about the difficulties of teaching yourself GIS when much of your day-to-day grind (in a non-GIS company ) doesn’t confront you with GISsable challenges. Well, turns out it’s only a question of trying a little harder. Here is a simple example of daily-grind-education…

One of our engineers was looking for a USGS topo map this morning. Of course, I was asked: “Can’t you get me one with GIS ?” My first reaction was to say: Probably … but I’m not sure I have the data for that. ( I had been looking for sources for DEM files the other day without location any free data.)
During lunch, I started browsing the latest addition to my GIS library
Desktop GIS: Mapping the Planet with Open Source Tools, and on page 4, it mentions a free source of DRG files: http://www.libremap.org.
Needless to say, it took about 5 minutes to find, download, scale, and print the needed section from the topomap, hopefully make everyone happy, and add another simple task to my growing arsenal of GIS weapons. Okay, I didn’t save the planet. But I felt like I learned something useful.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

