ArcMap – Legend Limiter Extension

I installed Legend Limiter the other day – a very useful tool that unclutters your map legends by only including those records shown in your layout, e.g. you don’t end up with a geology map for north Texas with a legend that includes Big Bend rocks ! The only other way I knew how to do this was to make a selection of the rocks I was interested in, export as a layer, and then include that layer on the legend. Now, all I need is figure the problem described in my last post, and how to have the legend put the geologic formations in chronological order.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “ArcMap – Legend Limiter Extension

  1. Colleen

    I just found your Blog because I am trying to use the Legend Limiter in the new ArcMap 10. I have not had any luck trying to reinstall it. Do you have any suggestions?

    • Arne

      My transition to ArcGIS10 has been “partial”. I haven’t tried to install Legend Limiter. But I noticed that there doesn’t appear to be a version for ArcGIS10. So hang in there. I’m sure they’ll catch up. If I find it, I’ll let you know.

  2. Molly Molter

    I haven’t installed ArcGIS 10 yet and am not familiar with all its new capabilities. Has anybody discovered a way to make dynamic legends without using the Legend Limiter script since it appears to be incompatible?

    • Arne

      I’m still going back and forth between 9.3 and 10… I have the Limited running on 9.3 but have never really loved it. So I’m afraid I can’t be of any help. I have wondered before why something like it isn’t already part of ArcGIS standard version… ?

  3. Norm Mair

    This post on the ESRI forum describes how to get Legend Limiter working in ArcGIS 10:
    http://forums.arcgis.com/threads/24968-Legend-Limiter-in-Arc-10
    Quote “I have managed to get the Legend Limiter I used 9.3.1 to work in Arc 10.
    Install Legend Limiter as before, you will notice nothing seems to happen.
    Then go to:
    C:\Program Files\ArcGIS\Desktop10.0\Bin\Categories.exe (Component Category Manager)
    In this window click on the button Category Importer…
    The LegendLimter.dll should be visible. Check the box and then Apply Changes.

    Now you can add the Legend Limiter button in ArcMap from the customize tool.”

Leave a Reply

